The National Certificate in Educational Achievement (NCEA) is New Zealand's main national qualification for secondary school students. Year 11 students complete NCEA Level 1, while Years 12 & 13 focus on levels 2 and 3 respectively.  Many of our senior students opt to take  multi-level courses incorporating subjects from 2 or more of these levels.

For more information about NCEA please click here.


NCEA subjects at John McGlashan College have a mixture of internal and external assessments for each course. External assessment takes place in November with nationwide examinations, whilst internal assessment can take place throughout the year using either Achievement Standards or Unit Standards. Most subjects offer around 20-24 credits from their course with a balance of both internal and external assessment. Details of each course are contained on our Course Selection site.


Credits towards NCEA can be attained through Achievement Standards. Standards are a little like topics within the subject – the larger the topic, the more credits it will be worth. A typical subject could have between five to nine standards topics) giving a total of 20 to 24 credits. A typical Year 11 (Level 1) student will study 7 subjects. Year 12 students take 6 subjects and Year 13 students, 5

Gaining the NCEA Qualifications

Level 1 NCEA: Students must gain a minimum of 80 credits as well as a minimum of literacy and numeracy credits.
Level 2 NCEA: Students must gain a minimum of 80 credits (60 of which must come from Level 2 standards or higher).
Level 3 NCEA: Students must gain a minimum of 80 credits (60 of which must come from Level 3 standards or higher. No more than 20 credits may come from level 2).

Tertiary entry requirements

Details of entry requirements for University are listed in our Course Information Booklet and are also available on the NZQA website.

Alignment for Overseas Institutions

For overseas Academic institutions New Zealand has qualification agreements with Australia and the United Kingdom and New Zealand qualifications are accepted for most purposes in the United States. NCEA is included in the publication International Qualifications for Entry into Higher Education, which is used in the UK and internationally for tertiary entrance and selection. Level 3 NCEA is broadly equivalent to English A Levels and Australia’s Higher School Certificate.

Further Information

NCEA Information Doc
Contact Mr Chris Knopp (Principal's Nominee) for further information.