Wednesday 6th May 2015

Go McGlashan Read 2015, what a success! As you know, Go McGlashan Read is our school readathon, to raise funds for The New Zealand Rare disease Foundation. It went spectacularly well this year, so thanks for all your efforts to support this.  

A few months ago McGlashan students were asked to take advantage of this opportunity to give back to the community that supports them in their education. They listened and then some!

The grand total raised in 2015 was $7117.40, an amazing result!

Students read for around 3,500 hours and literally hundreds of books came in and out of our library every day during Go McGlashan Read.

Many thanks to Mrs Garry and Mrs Sizemore for their tireless work encouraging boys to read. Of this money raised, half of the funds will be donated to The New Zealand Organisation for Rare Diseases, and the other half will go to our amazing Library. 

Prizes were awarded to the boys in support of their efforts;

  • The class that read for the most hours was 7MRO, who read for an amazing 405.4 hours!
  • The class that raised the most money is 7AHO, who raised an awesome $875.20! They will both receive Chupa Chups for the whole class.
  • Book and movie voucher prize winners for super-human effort were; Thomas Mccracken 9GAV who raised $184 and Harry Ross 9SPO who read for 79 hours! 

Well done to the students who got money and forms in on time.

The movie ticket prize winners were; 

  • 7AHO Jacob Wilson & Peter Sewell
  • 7MRO Daniel Lund & Noah Oseki
  • 7MBE Hayden Elliot
  • 8MRU Zack McConnon & Caleb Le Cong
  • 8ADU Matthew Kerruish
  • 9SPO Wei Loh 9DCA Elliot Chaimberlain & Coleman Horner
  • 9GAV Harrison Jolly 9JCU Charles Keenan
  • 10FM James Burchell 10MB Lachlan Kenneally
  • 10TC Jake Willsman & James Millar 10BJ Paddy Wennekes

Congratulations boys, for your awesome efforts. Go McGlashan Read! Encouraging reading and supporting the community at the same time. 

The New Zealand Organisation for Rare Disorders
Prizes for Go McGlashan Read
Go McGlashan Read prize winners
Harry Ross - prize winner